some basic questions related to daily exercises.

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:03 am
by Ayan Das • 3 Posts

i am a kind of beginner. i have started following Pebber's lesson 2-3 months back. i have some questions, knowing which i will be able to practice in the correct way.
1. while picking where should i place my palm? should i place it or just keep it in the air?
2. when practicing fingering or permutations the flesh of my fingers gets slightly touched to the string below. is it normal or should i do something about it? please suggest.
3. sometimes when i practice, the tips of my fingers pains very much. its not a pain in the skin that i know. it feels from inside the fingertips, as something pointy has been inserted. please suggest me what should i do to avoid it. and ya, i am doing the isometrics before playing.

Scroll up

RE: some basic questions related to daily exercises.

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:23 pm
by notenjesus • 23 Posts

3) i feel with you coz it also happens from time to time to me. take a break for a couple of days and practice other stuff or dont use the hurting finger in playing.

Pebber Brown's Soldier
Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:58 pm
by Denny (deleted)

Ok, You have ask 3 really good questions:-). To answer your first question. I rest the side of my hand on the bridge/tailpiece on my guitars.
The reason I do this because it feels comfortable & I get alot of control with my picking hand. It also is a good position if I want to palm mute.
My picking & strumming comes from wrist. I don't use my forearm to pick. Another thing to do is watch some videos of guitar players who are great at picking.
I watched some videos of John McLoughlin just a few days ago and saw that my right hand technique is the same as his.

What sort of music do you play?. If you like playing with lots of Overdrive/distortion palm muting is critical. The angle of your pick is also important as well.