On left-handedness

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:51 pm
by julessouren • 6 Posts

Good evening everyone. Allow me to try and explain my dillemma.

Even before I picked up a guitar (about 5 years ago), I 'air-guitared' left-handed. It somehow felt (and still feels) more natural to me. I can list numerous things that I do either with my left or right hand, but that leads me to believe I'm more ambidextrous (or should I say random-dextrous?).

Now, I am starting to become more and more dedicated to re-learn every bit of guitar playing that I know. I'm self taught, did the whole free-video-lesson thingy, read a few books - but no formal training or long highly concentrated practice sessions.

The thing is - should I switch to right handed playing? Among other things, the fact that I've been using a computer ever since I was a little kid (i.e I always have my fretting-hand semi-idle on a mouse, and I'm often tapping on the a-s-d-f-keys with my picking hand) leads me believe my mind/body could be fighting itself on guitar. Also, my fretting-hand-pinky appears to be more twisted inwards - which gives me the impression that this is limiting my reach. On the other hand, I have incorporated my pinky at a pretty early stage so I can control it a lot better than on my picking hand.

My hypothesis: starting all-over again but now right-handed would be beneficial (although very time consuming)
- I would use the fingers that normally do more moving, i.e. when I'm fiddling around without a guitar
- I haven't learned my current picking hand any bad habits when it comes to tension (as opposed to my current fretting hand)

I can go on and on, but I can't seem to use the right words and sentences to convey my 'problem'.

Any thoughts are appreciated. If needed, I can upload a video but I'm not sure what to show...

Scroll up

RE: On left-handedness

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:47 am
by thewayweride • 1 Post