Playing with a group/band

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:14 am
by diegopaudyal • 91 Posts

Hey all
I've been busy and haven't been here in a while. I started playing with my buddies some weeks ago. We practice once a week on weekends and I should say its going pretty good. Lots of mistakes but we are all beginners. It really makes so much sense now when I am playing a solo. I think 14 position system is paying off now, I can visually see a shape in the fretboard when I am soloing over something. In the past, I used to play note to note and hit wrong notes sometimes because I couldn't visualize or didn't know how to visualize the scale shape.

What do you guys think of when you play in song that you have already learned. Do you just play from your memory or you still try to visualize a chord/scale shape?

youtube.com/watch?v=jx1mxgXWDG0&list=LL7O1ymI-9U-hS1Gcjb6spKA

Don't just do it, Finish it!!
-Michael Angelo Batio

Last edited Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:16 am | Scroll up

RE: Playing with a group/band

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:01 pm
by uderoche (deleted)

This is great Diego! So glad to see you jamming. Exactly what you need to be doing! Practicing by yourself and then jamming with people! Awesome! You are on your way.

As far as the scale systems go, I guess I could put myself on auto pilot and just shred through some positions. Some have asked me why in some of my videos I'm not playing faster. It's funny because Pebber is the master of teaching speed right? But really, it's not about speed. It's about translating an idea or an emotion. Sometimes you need speed to do that. Or not. So it's about no boundaries more than it is about speed. So, I will look at the neck and try to see what notes are available to me and try to deliver that emotion or idea through phrasing, sliding, vibrato, speed, whatever I need.