Hi, everyone!/ Chicken Picking

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:25 pm
by dudukta • 1 Post

It's my first time here! OK, I' starting to learn chicken picking, and I'm having some problems with right hand mechanics. As exercise, I got a tab from Buckethead's acoustic 'What kind of nation'. Does someone use chicken picking and have some tips for me?

Scroll up

RE: Hi, everyone!/ Chicken Picking

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:55 pm
by pebberbrown • 926 Posts

two ways - pick only both down and upstroke and
second way - downstroke with pick and upstroke with middle finger.
Make sure the middle finger pulls up the string and when you release it
it snaps onto the neck making a popping sound.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:11 pm
by Debilius • 96 Posts

Pebber made a great video full of great ideas for chicken/hybrid picking:

I liked very much mentioning "Dust in the wind" of Kansas since it was my first song I've translated from fingerpicking into chicken picking even I was more into original since it's harder to play than in "travis picking" style which Pebber nailed in that Elvis' song in the video.

I'm not much into Buckethead, but since you've mentioned him, he has a "lesson" video on youtube...

...where in Figure 2 he plays chicken picking lick/exercise that I believe he learned from Pebber. It's constructed of two whole tone scales that alternates from one to another in intervals of an octave and a half tone, and produces effect of an alternating chromatic in octaves. Buckethead here uses approach of downstroke with pick and upstroke with middle finger.

Great chicken picking exercise and usable lick.

My question to Pebber(since you've mentioned Malaguena in that vid and flamenco in general comes to my mind)