Creating movable chords, help

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:35 pm
by smkdintlgnc • 4 Posts

Hello, im having a problem creating chords. I've been playing for maybe 4 years now, i've watched allll the pebber brown videos, practiced the caged system, and even got my interval scales down.

My issue is making chords, i see the scale on the fret board, and i play all the right notes, but the chords either 1)dont sounds like a chord {its a clashing sound} 2) i cant get them to move, even diatonicly.

I've tryed the basic progressions, and adding 5ths, 9ths, but it lacks.

This maybe be a simple solution, or, it might even be my own ear. But im a huge elliott smith fan, and i love how the chords he uses are so rich.

Im a fan of the Hungarian minor gypsy scale, im also a jazz and rock-billy lover.

Scroll up

RE: Creating movable chords, help

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:53 pm
by Debilius • 96 Posts

Congrats on watching of all Pebber's videos, but how much you've "heard" his videos is as important as seeing them. Ok, Pebber likes to talk more than somebody could expect and people tend to fast forward the video to some actual playing, and by doing that they miss the big picture because man's talking contains exact or more amount of quality info as playing itself in those videos. Watch all of Pebber's videos again and again, every time you'll reveal something new.

Seeing scale on a fretboard is also fine, but do you see intervals of that scale on the fretboard also?