Module 7: Tunes and Repertoire

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:09 am
by student • 146 Posts

I bought the Real Book 6th edition. I will use it for this section of Module 7, "Study & Learn Jazz Fake Book Tunes".

The song I am studying is "Sirabhorn" by Pat Metheny.

So I have 3 questions(I am sure I will have a million more once I get going):
1) Should I learn the melody first then the harmony ?
2) After learning both, should I start combining the two into combinations that sound good to me ?
3) Does anyone else have anything I should be focusing on while working on this song ?

This is the first song that I have studied. In the past any songwork I have done was just tab(haven't worked on a song in over a year, once I came to this sight I have been primarily focused in the first 3 modules).

Last edited Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:17 am | Scroll up

RE: Module 7: Tunes and Repertoire

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:29 pm
by student • 146 Posts

EDIT Above Post:

I just saw that Pebber does a lesson on Blue in Green and also has a link to the backing track for this song. It is in the Real Book as well. No need to reply to my first post, I am going to be studying this song instead.
Lesson
backing track

Last edited Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:31 pm | Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:37 pm
by student • 146 Posts

I shifted gears, went from BLue in Green to Giant Steps. I just couldn't get into Blue in Green, who knows maybe my ears will come around to it. Anyway here is a vid that goes out to John he had shared a vid with on Giant Steps.
This vid covers my chord voicings, I have ALOT of work ahead of me....but I enjoy the process. The chords I chose I kept basic because I really wanted to develop my speed and timing with chord progressions. I don't do as much chord work as I should.

Don't listen to me

Last edited Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:38 pm | Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:14 pm
by uderoche (deleted)