Daily Practice Routine as Complete Beginner

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:20 am
by Jabby • 4 Posts

Hi everyone!

This will be my 7th week of playing guitar starting this week. I'm 24 years old and it's my first time really sitting down and learning guitar as I wanted a hobby to get me off my computer (I work as a computer programmer). I really enjoy challenging stuff and guitar/music is definitely challenging so I wanted something new. I am very fortunate to have discovered Pebber Brown this early into my guitar playing and I feel like I'm making tremendous progress by developing and working on the techniques and habits that he preaches in all of his videos and etc. I signed up to the online lessons recently and was amazed how much you get for very little money.. it's really great.

Anyway, for the past few weeks I have focused really only on Module 1 & 2, just experimenting around with each part in each of the modules. Since I work full time I usually have around 2-3, sometimes 4 hours a night that I can sit down and attempt to practice and lately I have been practicing while watching TV shows, primarily Right Hand technique. When I first started scalpel picking I was absolutely terrible. I kept dropping the pick, it was scratchy on all 6 strings.. I mean I was just terrible. After this weekend though I feel like I've gotten far better, I'm only getting a little scratching on string 6 (thickest E string) so all though it's taken me weeks to get to this point, it feels like it's slowly starting to pay off.

As for left hand stuff.. I've mainly just been doing the chromatic exercises the best I can.. obviously the beginner chords and have played around a bit with a couple of scales. I've also touched a bit on the spider and ladder exercises.. which all have been great.