Right hand out of action: any advice

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:08 am
by Ivan • 45 Posts

Hi guys,
well i messed up badly and injured my right hand last night. Got a fractured knuckle on right hand 5th metacarpal and pinky itself is all messed up. Ortho surgeon says surgery may be needed, and I cant use the hand for 6 weeks or more. So I've got a month off work and extra practice time haha. I'm a beginner so I was working on right hand technique only up until yesterday.

I was planning on starting string permutations, trills and the chromatic scale for 6 weeks and working on music theory lectures online to improve my basics. I literally cant hold a pick, use a pen or type with my right hand.

Anyone else worked through an injury like this before?
Did you take time off completely or work left hand only for a while?
Anything you guys do to rehab the injury quicker?

Music=Life
Scroll up

RE: Right hand out of action: any advice

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:54 am
by wetduck (deleted)

That's to bad Ivan :( The good news ! is there's still plenty to do with your other hand. or to get started on :) I dare say You might even have a advantage !!! not having to worry about your picking. lol spiders,trills,ladders eg. Lock down your chromatic form :) and good hand habits from the very start :)