An Introduction .. and a Question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:41 pm
by Fjord • 3 Posts

Hello there,

I started playing guitar just under a year ago, and I've been playing off and on in that time. I'm still pretty young, and even though I don't really have my future figured out yet, I want to take music seriously. Recently I came across Mr. Brown's videos and YouTube page. I'm not sure what makes a great guitar teacher, but he seems like he is one. Anyways, I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of the first few things I should practice and make a video of so that you can assess my skills. It would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

- Fjord
Scroll up

RE: An Introduction .. and a Question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:59 am
by musicalhair • 9 Posts

Pebber is a great teacher.

I think what you want to practice are a bit of these three categories: 1) the mechanics of playing (right/left hand technique, posture, wrist angles, being relaxed as possible, etc); 2) ear training (which I neglected as a result held myself back); and 3) learning the language and vocabulary of music as it applies to the music you want to play.

1 just makes you able to play what you want to play.

2 connects what you want to play to what you're hearing most efficiently.