why stacked thirds?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:58 pm
by BillCorey • 7 Posts

Hi everyone,

New forumer here. Name's Bill. I emailed Pebber a question and he told me to post it in the forums, so here goes:

"I'm just a beginner (haven't even bought a guitar yet), and I've been reading up on music theory in preparation. I understand that basic harmony involves stacked thirds, but I don't understand why that is. Why that interval as opposed to another? I've read there are other kinds of harmony besides tertian, but I still don't understand the reasoning. Could you explain it to me, or point me in the direction of a book or article that could? Also, I plan on reading a number of books, but are there any in particular that explain these kinds of details instead of just brushing over them? I'm looking for something slow, methodical, and comprehensive. Something even a retard could understand."

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Scroll up

RE: why stacked thirds?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:21 pm
by jimiclaptoncarl • 117 Posts

Welcome to the forum!

Well, honestly I can't answer your question because I'm not to sure about that myself..

I haven't really given it much thought actually, I mean, I've known it's based on 3rds, Tertian Harmony, but I don't understand the reasoning either.

Thanks for posting because now I get to learn something new.

"Let's face it, you SUCK; now what are you going to do about it?" - Dick Grove

Practice not just until you get it right, practice until you can't get it wrong.

Stay fit and eat healthy; die anyways. :p

MY GEAR:
Epiphone 2007 Les Paul Standard
Ibanez AEF30E Acoustic/Electric
Fender 2008 MIM Stratocaster
Line 6 Spider ll 30watt
Epiphone Studio 10s 19watt
Digitech RP300A

jimiclaptoncarl

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:04 am
by pebberbrown • 926 Posts