Classical form newie question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:58 pm
by acosta_rodrigo • 13 Posts

Hi people, I'm new to PB lessons, and I have a doubt regarding the way to play consecutives notes on the same string going up the board, and by going up I mean playing lower pitch notes.

I'm ok with the all the exercise on the chromatic scale, I can go up (by putting all 4 fingers at the same time and lifting them as I play the note) and down by leaving the fingers in the same position as I play the notes.

But does it always have to be played that way? I need years of practice but I think I may be slower playing it this way for example while practicing other scales or soloing. And I don't see Mr Brown doing it always this way either.

So the question is, to play 4 consecutives notes going up on the thread by not doing it like in the Chromatic Scale #1 excersice is wrong?
I hope I maid my self clear.

Scroll up

RE: Classical form newie question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:02 am
by tplu7234 • 39 Posts

I am a little confused by your question, are you asking whether you should always play guitar the way you practice? If so, then the chromatic scale has many uses (Pebber posted a video recently demonstrating how it can be integrated into music and soloing) but it is also a fantastic way to improve general technique.