Pick or no pick?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:06 am
by ForgottenLegacy • 5 Posts

For the last five years I've primarily played acoustic, finger picking. A few months ago I picked up an electric, and have been using a pick. I've doing some of the lessons, and the metronome exercises I can pick faster with my thumb than a pick. Should I just forget about the pick?

Also, I am self taught, and have never taken a formal lesson in my life. I've been ripping through the practice exercises a few hours a day, but I notice a burning pain on the top of my wrist. My fingers and hand are strong, but keeping my wrist bent with the thumb behind the neck is bringing on the pain. Will this pain go away? I notice it's only after I play, the next morning there is no lasting pain.

Last edited Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:09 am | Scroll up

RE: Pick or no pick?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:52 pm
by tplu7234 • 39 Posts

It is better to have as many styles and techniques as possible rather than sticking to one method. It will make you a more versatile player, there are things you can do with a pick that you can not do with your fingers and vice versa. It will probably feel like you are starting guitar again when using a pick but stick with it and you will see its value.

As for your pain, I can not be sure whether that is serious or not. I believe only you would know how much is too much, so the best advice I can give is take extreme caution. Last thing you want is an overuse injury, it can and will stop you from playing guitar from an extended period (maybe forever if you are not careful). If I play for 5-6 hours I do get tired but I have never had a 'burning' pain.