Trill Abuse

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue May 08, 2012 12:29 am
by Slashiepie • 118 Posts

Hi everyone and again thanks to Pebber for all the material and asskicking motivation.

Im glad to say that ive made humongous progress in as little as one year and although i still definetly suck, im happy with the results.

Ive been jamming with guitarists that have been playing for 10+ years and i must say it is impressive to actually compare how friggin effective Pebbers training is. Sarod/scalpel picking is the real deal! My picking technique is a monster and im proud of how pretty my left hand technique is turning out ;) Cant wait for another year to go by :)

Anyways in the quest of taming my pinky i trilled for around 3 hours everyday for one month and used the pinky as much as i could, the pinky did indeed grow insanely strong and fast, but sadly it also got injured (interphalangeal joint/ligament hurts). I gave my left hand a well needed 4 weeks rest and all injuries seemed to have healed, but recently i have noticed that the pinky has not yet healed properly..

1)So how long should i let it rest? another 4 weeks or another full 8 weeks? am i better off not using the left hand at all ? or buddy tapping it and playing only with 3 fingers?

2) Ive been concentrating on exercises for way too long and my repertoire sucks :)
Now i know its time to focus on repertoire, do you recommend i put 100% of my time into it, till i get it to a decent level, then get back to my usual routine or would you still be practicing other modules ?

Thanks in Advance

Last edited Tue May 08, 2012 12:41 am | Scroll up

RE: Trill Abuse

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue May 08, 2012 5:30 am
by deltadiscos • 321 Posts

In reply to question 2 my Repertoire also suffers but i am the sort of person who enjoys the excercises ( quarter notes chromatics at 50bpm) painfully boring. but i would say yea defo build your repertoire if thats what you want. but still leave some time for the routine.