Long time player wondering where to start over?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:32 am
by jvieira72 • 21 Posts

Hello all. My name is Jeff and I just registered on the site. I've watched tons of Pebber's videos and was impressed so I thought I come to him and his community for advice. I've been playing for over twenty years but never at more than a hobbyist level. I've been primarily a blues player even though I got into it in 89 when hair metal was at its final stages. I've had lessons but been mostly self taught. I have a lot of bad habits and huge gaps in my theory and fret board knowledge. For about 6 months now I've been consistently working with the metronome and it has helped a lot but I need some direction. I'd like to feel like I actually knew what I was doing and be able to play well enough that I don't irritate myself with how bad I am. Should I follow Pebber's syllabus from the beginning or do you all have other suggestions? Anything will be a big help. Thanks to anyone who decides to respond I appreciate it.

Scroll up

RE: Long time player wondering where to start over?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:21 am
by uderoche (deleted)

Yes. I would go to Pebber's YouTube channel, sort the videos from oldest to newest, and start watching and practicing the material covered as shown. Make sure you are holding the pick correctly, make sure you are holding the fret hand on the neck correctly, etc etc. I would start over from the very beginning as if you have never played the guitar before. Start over completely from the beginning. At first, this may be shocking. But, this is not out of the ordinary. Many musicians all over the world re-build their technique in different ways over and over again. Start from the beginning, watch all the videos, download the material when prompted, practice as shown and you will be on your way. Good luck!

-Ursin

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:40 am
by jvieira72 • 21 Posts