Scalpel picking and choice of pick

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue May 31, 2016 2:48 pm
by Peter Pawlak • 7 Posts

Hey guys,

As a noob I'm paying close attention to getting scalpel picking right, but am sort of confused how it can work when the direction of the stroke is in-line with the plane of the pick (at roughly 30 degrees to the string). In the new video BASICS_1A_Picking_Technique.mp4, Pebber shows it very clearly, but when I do it his way the sound is really soft and dull, and is also scratchy on the wound strings. It seems like there's no release or "snap" to set the string vibrating.

Then as I looked closer, I began wondering: to get that snap off the string, do I need a pointed pick (like Pebber's Dawa, Jazz IIIs, et.al.) to make it work cleanly? I'm using the blunt-tipped Dunlop MaxGrip picks, and that blunt nose just rides over the string without getting a clean release. (Using wrist-picking holding the MaxGrip pick at the same angle to the strings but using a stroke angle roughly 90 degrees to the strings, the sound sounds much better cleaner.)

I'm assuming (but I not 100% clear as to why) that scalpel picking is superior to wrist picking, but doing some searching on other forums it appears that this topic is somewhat controversial. I'm hoping someone could explain the long-term benefits to me?

BTW, when Pebber gets up to full speed, it's really hard to see his thumb motion and stroke direction, so it "looks" a lot like wrist picking, but I'm assuming this is an artifact of the frame rate of the video.

Thanks in advance!

Peter

Scroll up

RE: Scalpel picking and choice of pick

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:16 am
by Farelli • 189 Posts

I use Dunlop picks as well, 1.25mm, and I love them. I find that I have to back off of 30 degrees slightly or I get a lot of pick scrape noise.

Scalpel picking has really upped my game. I find that when I'm not concentrating I play much more cleanly and have far better muting control.