New with picking questions

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:37 pm
by Cliff • 344 Posts

Hey all,
I'm new to the forum, so let me introduce myself. My name is Cliff, and I'm a keen amateur guitarist. I started when I was around 19 back in the 80s, but without any real focus on technique. To be honest, I'm pretty uncoordinated, have a poor sense of rhythm, and not much of a sense of pitch. Nevertheless I love playing guitar :).
Anyway, as life went on I stopped playing, until about three years ago I took it up again. For the last two years I've been practicing technique pretty extensively (or so I thought until I read how hard people practice on this forum). I guess I practice 1-2 hours a night most nights, and maybe a little more at the weekends. My goals would be able to play some of my favourite tunes from Paige, Van Halen and Randy Rhoads. Maybe play in an amateur band if I felt confident enough.
What brought me to this site was curiosity about picking. Sometime last week I saw a vid of a guy playing where he was using his fingers to move the pick, which I'd never seen (or at least noticed) before. I asked him where he'd learnt it, and he said he'd never really given it any thought. Funny how some people just naturally choose a graceful and efficient technique, eh? By coincidence, I stumbled on one of Pebber's videos demonstrating scalpel picking the next day.