Diminshed Scale

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:28 pm
by Derek • 3 Posts

I'm a newbie on the boards and wanted to see if I could get some advice. I've been playing guitar for around 7 years, but had TERRIBLE form. Over the last couple of months I discovered Pebber and have improved my technique ten-fold. I listen to metal and am trying to improve on soloing and have found out one of my weakness; diminished scales. For instance, The Diminished Scale (mi intervals) Page - 6, I have a hard time with the single note on the A string. I've been using a metronome on that scale for the last several weeks but have plateaued. Any advice on how to get through this? I apologize if this has already been asked somewhere else...

Scroll up

RE: Diminshed Scale

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:45 am
by dlraben • 278 Posts

To get good advice, I recommend you post a video playing through the pattern(s) that you feel you are struggling with. Please make sure we can see both of your hands, that you play with a metronome or drum track at a speed that you can handle, and that the audio is clear enough to hear both you and the clicks.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:24 pm
by Derek • 3 Posts

Yeah, I kind of figured that is what I would need, unfortunately, I do not have a camera on my computer. Do you have any tips on how your broke through a time you had plateaued?

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:39 pm
by Cliff • 344 Posts

Hey Derek - I'm definitely one of the less technically able players on this forum. However, I feel recently I've climbed a couple of long-standing plateaus, so I'll mention what's worked for me in case it's any use: