Unwanted sound

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:57 pm
by Paul Amos • 19 Posts

I attempted to make a video of what I've learnt since the 1st January when I enrolled in a 1 video lesson a month with Pebber.

I have been prcticing on my sons strat copy unplugged and thought I was doing okay, however when I plugged it in to the amp and started the right hand exercises, alternating up and down the strings the sustain became too much and I had to damp the strings with my left hand to hear the picked strings clearly. On all the lesson videos this doesn't happen with Pebber and looking at posted videos on the forum the same is true. As I'm totally new to this I really have no idea how to do this, I tied damping the struck string with the side of my right hand but then it deadened the next picked string, particularly when going from high E (string 1) to low E (string 6).

Can someone explain what I am doing wrong, is it how the guitar is set up, the amp or incorrect use of the picking hand?
Cheers in advance.

Paul

Scroll up

RE: Unwanted sound

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:47 pm
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

Hey Paul,

I think your sitting in front of your amp with your guitar. This can create feedback and i think this is happening to you. What you could do is do not sit in front of your amp but next to it or point the amp to a other direction.

I hope this will help

grtz Ray

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:54 am
by Paul Amos • 19 Posts

Hey Ray,

You may well be right, the amp is in front and slightly to the side. I will move it behind me and see what happens.

Thank you very much

Paul

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:54 am
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

Paul,

The follwoing happens (if its really feedback).