A couple of questions from a noob

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:30 am
by Ivan18 • 1 Post

Hi guys!
I'm a beginner at the guitar and I hope you will help me to understand some stuff:
1. How much should I work on a set of exercises in my practice routine before I move on to the next exercise/permutation? At what point can I say to myself 'OK, I've got it, let's move to the next one'?
2. How much should I practice playing music? It's plain common sense that if I play only exercises all day long, I will end up being a good exercise player, but if I play only music and figure things out by ear, I will end up being a good musician with very limited technical abilities. Some guys here say that they play only exercises, but I can't do it, playing them isn't rewarding for me, it doesn't make me feel good about playing guitar. So how can I find balance here?

Scroll up

RE: A couple of questions from a noob

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:22 am
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

Hi Ivan,

How much you should work on a exercise thats depending on yourself a bit. Maybe you nail an exercise very fast and someone else needs a lot of work on it. Its also depending on you goals, do you want to play everything at 240 bpm with 16th notes for example.
One thing is for sure you will have to do the exercises on a daily base when you feel they go easy you could go to a another exercise and leave on behind (you can come back to it later if you like).