Beginner practice hour question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:06 pm
by muldar3000 • 13 Posts

I'm curious what a seasoned player would recommend for a total newbie with an hour per day to practice? From the videos I've watch thus far here's what I put together. I'm currently doing 5m Alt picking, 5m scalpel & 5m Sarod, 15m on the chromatic scale, then doing about 25m on A minor scales, 5m on songs and doing spider & trills while watching TV later at night. Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks!

Scroll up

RE: Beginner practice hour question

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:39 pm
by Paul Kump • 12 Posts

You're spreading yourself too thin. Spending five minutes on an exercise or learning a song is probably not enough to make any headway on the exercise or song. An hour is not a lot of time, so don't divide it too much. As a rule of thumb, my minimum block of time is 20 minutes to spend on an exercise and, even then, I don't feel good about only spending 20 minutes on something.

Pebber's preferred picking technique is a combo of scalpel and Sarod. In theory, if you were able to get these techniques down, I suspect learning alternate picking wouldn't benefit you too much. I would do away with practicing alternate picking AND Sarod AND scalpel. Spend 20 minutes on Sarod picking, with 3-to-4 minutes on each string, without fretting anything (see Pebber's Daily Practice Routine Videos). Then, try to double-up on your exercises: Spend 20 minutes on chromatic exercises WITH scalpel picking. Spend the last 20 minutes on scales. As you pointed out, the trills, spiders and ladders are conducive to television zoning-out, so do those then, if you must watch television. Do this for several weeks, and do not change what you are working on. After that, perhaps switch out the 20 minutes on scales with 20 minutes on songs. Do that for several weeks, then switch back.