Picking Improvement

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:47 pm
by Scottulus • 222 Posts

Hey everyone! First of all, greetings and salutations;this looks like a cool board filled with hardcore guitar slavers. I look forward to lots of posting and reading!

So anyhoo, let me give you a bit of background:

I'm a guitarist living up in Canada, I started playing when I was a little kid (I'm, like 40 now!), and was one of those obsessive types (Really into EVH, Lynch, Malmsteen, Rhoads... Alex Lifeson, Steve Morse, Steve Vai, Satch, etc) But I never really had any formal lessons. The odd, 'hey here's a chord' sort of thing and random sit-ins with the local guitar guy to learn some notes or a cool lick. I went to music school after playing guitar for quite a while, and even there, surrounded by lots of awesome guitarists no one really knew how to pick. No direction on the physical execution of the technique of picking. I mean, Paul Gilbert was a huge influence, and his videos were really helpful... in teaching me that if I worked hard enough at ANYTHING with a metronome, I could get proficient and comfortable. So yep, I got pretty decent at playing the 'ole guitar. The shredi info was self taught and mixed with lots of formal education (solid theory, and good ear training). Still, in order to maintain my level of playing and rhythmic control I had to practice a minimum of an hour to 2 hours a day. I hit a wall speed wise, and wasn't too sure why. I was still pretty bloody fast, so I just never cared. But... I noticed I was kinda tense and playing with my whole arm on the pick side. I'm a pretty big guy, I should NOT have to pick on the strings this way. I also had a really different way of holding the pick, Almost like a direct slice, with my first fingernail parallel with the fretboard, and my thumb stabbing into the pick. Rigid? Yep. Really rigid. And really not fun to practice. My shoulder and neck were starting to kill me. Also, I was addicted to Jazz II's, t