Introduction and first video

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:23 pm
by Farelli • 189 Posts

Hello guys,

I just joined yesterday and thought I'd introduce myself. I've been playing the guitar for more than thirty years, but for most of that I haven't been playing it very well. In the past 3 years I started working on scales and theory, and I've learned and improved quite a bit, but my efforts have been unfocused to say the least.

About a year ago I came across Pebber's videos and stunning amount of available information (thanks, Pebber for all your efforts), but I didn't make the decision until this week to really throw myself into a regimented practice schedule and drill proper technique and develop toward mastering the instrument.

I'm poking around my local area for bands to join as a rhythm guitarist, but I really need to do some work to get to the level I want to be and I plan to do so no matter how long it takes me.

Having read several of the more recent posts in the last day, I learned that videos are what feed the forums, so I decided to record a quick one of me doing a simple chromatic exercise designed to demonstrate a couple of things.

I'm not using a metronome so the speed is pretty erratic (much more so than I thought when playing it -- funny how that works, eh?).

In the middle I think about my picking hand and you can see me adjust my thumb to be more in accordance with Pebber's instructions on picking.

I have alot of things to work on as I watch this video. I see some good things, but I can really tighten up my technique all around.

I welcome any criticism at all; I'd love to hear people's opinions on my start here. But mainly I have a question: when I tighten my left hand and pull the fingers in, it seems like I am pulling them a really long way from the fingerboard, and this makes me think my left hand position is off in some way. If anyone what I need to work on there I'd appreciate the information.