Problem with G string

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:43 pm
by Jfed • 8 Posts

When I play chords that have an open G the string starts ringing out like crazy after just a couple of seconds and it sounds bad. I've only recently noticed this. I've been playing for about 8 months now and I'm an old guy so this is very new to me and I would really appreciate any advice. I'm clueless if it's me or my guitar. Thank you.

Scroll up

RE: Problem with G string

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:33 pm
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

Hi Jfed,

This could be a couple of things:

1) Your stings are getting old.
2) The neck of your guitar need to be adjusted

The first one you could easily solve and check by yourself, put some new strings on your guitar. The second one, almost every guitar (except classical ones) have a thrust rod by thightening or loosen this you can adjust the angle of the neck. But you have to be very carefull with this to not distroy your guitar. The videos on youtube on how to do this. But as you mentioned your new to guitar I would recommend to go to your local guitar dealer they do this for free and know how to do this.

If your guitar is new this is normal to do after several months.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:33 pm
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

Hi Jfed,

This could be a couple of things:

1) Your stings are getting old.
2) The neck of your guitar need to be adjusted

The first one you could easily solve and check by yourself, put some new strings on your guitar. The second one, almost every guitar (except classical ones) have a thrust rod by thightening or loosen this you can adjust the angle of the neck. But you have to be very carefull with this to not distroy your guitar. The videos on youtube on how to do this. But as you mentioned your new to guitar I would recommend to go to your local guitar dealer they do this for free and know how to do this.